Space Opera Literature

Original creations

Alien Chronicles by Deborah Chester
Alliance-Union universe (1976–present) by C. J. Cherryh
Berserker series by Fred Saberhagen
Brain and Brawn Ship series, Anne McCaffrey et al
Canopus in Argos by Doris Lessing
Chronicles of Solace by Roger MacBride Allen
CoDominium by Jerry Pournelle et al
Commonwealth Saga (2004–2005) by Peter F. Hamilton
Confederation series (1996–1999), Peter F. Hamilton
Conqueror Saga by Timothy Zahn
Convergence series by Charles Sheffield
Crest of the Stars (1996–present) by Hiroyuki Morioka
Crossfire series by Nancy Kress
Culture series (1987–2012) by Iain M. Banks
Dune series (197?-present) by Frank Herbert et al.
Dread Empire’s Fall (2002–2005) by Walter Jon Williams
Ender’s Game series (1985–present) by Orson Scott Card
Engines of Light by Ken MacLeod
Expanse (2011–present) by James S. A. Corey
Foreigner universe (1994–present) by C. J. Cherryh
Foundation & Robot series (1942–1999) by Isaac Asimov et al.
Gap Cycle (1990–1996) by Stephen R. Donaldson
Galactic Center, Gregory Benford
Hainish novels by Ursula K. LeGuin
Honorverse series (1992–present) by David Weber
Humanx Commonwealth by Alan Dean Foster
Hyperion Cantos (1989–1996) by Dan Simmons
Imperial Radch by Ann Leckie
Known Space by Larry Niven et al
Legend of the Galactic Heroes (1982–1989) by Yoshiki Tanaka
Liaden universe series (1988-present) by Sharon Lee and Steve Miller
Lost Fleet (2006–present) by Jack Campbell
Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
Paradox Series by Rachel Bach
Perry Rhodan (1961-present), by K. H. Scheer and Clark Darlton et al.
Probability series by Nancy Kress
Queen series by Joan D. Vinge
Retrieval Artist series by Kristin Kathryn Rusch
Revelation Space series (2001–2009) by Alastair Reynolds
Saga of Seven Suns (2002–2008) by Kevin J. Anderson
Saga of Shadows (2014–present) by Kevin J. Anderson
Seafort Saga (1994-2001) by David Feintuch
Serrano Legacy by Elisabeth Moon
Singularity Sky series (2003–present) by Charles Stross
Sirantha Jax series by Ann Aguirre
Skolian Saga (1995-present) by Catherine Asaro
Spider series by W. Michael Gear
Spiral Arm series (2007–) by Michael F. Flynn
Trade Pact by Julie E. Czerneda
Uplift Universe novels (1980–98) by David Brin
Vattas War by Elisabeth Moon
Void series by Peter F. Hamilton
Vorkosigan Saga (1987–present) by Lois McMaster Bujold
Xeelee Sequence (1991–present) by Stephen Baxter
Zones of Thought series (1992–present) by Vernor Vinge


Alien books
Battlestar Galactica books
Star Trek books
Star Wars books
Warhammer 40 K books