Known Space Books and Games

Books by (Larry Niven)


  • Neutron Star (1968 collection, republished in Omnibus 1991) (Neutron Star 1966, At the Core 1966, Flatlander 1967, Grendel 1968, The Handicapped, The Soft Weapon, A Relic of Empire, The Ethics of Madness)
  • The Shape of Space (1969 collection) (At the Bottom of a Hole 1966, The Warriors 1966, Safe at Any Speed 1967, How the Heroes Die 1966, The Organleggers 1969)
  • All the Myriad Ways (1969, coll (Becalmed in Hell 1965, Jigsaw Man 1967, Wait it Out 1968)
  • Inconstant Moon (1973, coll) (Becalmed in Hell 1965, Death by Ecstasy (Organleggers) 1969, At the Bottom of a Hole 1966, How the Heroes Die 1966)
  • A Hole In Space (1974, coll) (There is a Tide 1968)
  • Tales of Known Space: The Universe of Larry Niven (1975 collection) (The Coldest Place 1964, Becalmed in Hell 1965, Eye of an Octopus 1966, The Warriors 1966, How the Heroes Die 1966, At the Bottom of a Hole 1966, Safe at Any Speed 1967, The Jigsaw Man 1967, Intent to Deceive 1968, There is a Tide 1968, Wait it Out 1968, Cloak of Anarchy 1972, The Borderland of Sol 1975)
  • The Long Arm of Gil Hamilton (1976 collection) (Death by Ecstasy (Organleggers) 1969, The Defenseless Dead, ARM 1976)
  • N-Space (1990, coll) (Cloak of Anarchy 1972, Madness Has Its Place 1990, Shall We Indulge in Rishathra (cartoons by William Rotsler), part from World of Ptavvs, from Ringworld, from Protector, from A Gift from Earth)
  • Playgrounds of the Mind (1990, coll) (Becalmed in Hell 1965, The Defenseless Dead, Wait it Out 1968, The Borderland of Sol 1975, part from the Patchwork Girl, part from Ringworld Engineers, The Soft Weapon, A Relic of Empire)
  • Bridging the Galaxies (1993, coll) ( The Color of Sunfire 1993, Procrustes 1993)
  • Crashlander (1994, coll.) (Neutron Star 1966, At the Core 1966, Flatlander 1967, Grendel 1968, The Borderland of Sol 1975, Procrustes 1993)
  • Flatlander (1995, coll.) (Death by Ecstasy (Organleggers) 1969, The Defenseless Dead, ARM 1976, Patchwork Girl 1978, The Woman in Del Rey Crater)
  • Three Books of Known Space (coll, 1996) (The Coldest Place 1964, Becalmed in Hell 1965, Eye of an Octopus 1966, The Warriors 1966, How the Heroes Die 1966, At the Bottom of a Hole 1966, Safe at Any Speed 1967, The Jigsaw Man 1967, The Deceivers 1968, There is a Tide 1968, Wait it Out 1968, Cloak of Anarchy 1972, Madness Has Its Place, World of Ptavvs and A Gift from Earth)
  • Scatterbrain (coll, 2003) (Excerpt from The Ringworld Throne, The Woman in Del Rey Crater, Procrustes, Introduction to Man-Kzin Wars II, Canon for the Man-Kzin Wars)


World of Ptavvs (1966, republished in Omnibus 1991)
A Gift from Earth (1968, republished in Omnibus 1991)
Protector (1973)
ARM (1976)
The Patchwork Girl (1980)


A.R.M. (1990, Adventure/Malibu Graphics), 3-issue mini-series, B&W. Based on the short story, “Death By Ecstasy” by Larry Niven
Written by Bill Spangler?. Art by Terry Tidwell? and Steve Stiles?
“Death By Ecstasy” (September 1990, #1)
“The Organ Leggers” (October 1990, #2)
“Heart Attack” (November 1990, #3)

A.R.M.: The Defenseless Dead, (1991, Adventure/Malibu Graphics), 3-issue mini-series, B&W
The Jigsaw Man, graphic adaptation; Deepest Dimension Terror Anthology #2, limited-edition comic book, Revolutionary Comics; August 1993
The Ringworld Throne, graphic adaptation (excerpts), by Richard Corben; Omni Comics I, #3; Oct/Nov 1995

Graphic novel

Death by Ecstasy (1991), adapted by Bill Spangler, Terry Tidwell, and Steve Stiles

Ringworld Prequel series (Larry Niven and Edward M. Lerner)

Fleet of Worlds (2007)
Juggler of Worlds (2008)
Destroyer of Worlds (2009)
Betrayer of Worlds (2010)
Fate of Worlds (2012)

Ringworld (Larry Niven)

Ringworld (1970)
The Ringworld Engineers (1980)
The Ringworld Throne(1996)
Ringworld’s Children (2004)

Guide to Larry Niven’s Ringworld (1994, Kevin Stein)

Man-Kzin anthologies

The Man-Kzin Wars (1988, Larry Niven, Poul Anderson, Dean Ing)
Man-Kzin Wars II (1989, Dean Ing, Jerry Pournelle and S.M. Stirling)
Man-Kzin Wars III (1990, Larry Niven, Poul Anderson, Jerry Pournelle and S.M. Stirling)
Man-Kzin Wars IV (1991, Donald Kingsbury, Greg Bear and S.M. Stirling)
Man-Kzin Wars V (1992, Thomas T. Thomas, Jerry Pournelle and S.M. Stirling)
Man-Kzin Wars VI (1994, Donald Kingsbury, Mark O. Martin and Gregory Benford)
Man-Kzin Wars VII (1995, Hal Colebatch, Paul Chafe, Mark O. Martin and Gregory Benford)
Man-Kzin Wars VIII: Choosing Names (1998, Larry Niven, Hal Colebatch, Jean Lamb, Paul Chafe and Warren W. James)
The Best of All Possible Wars: The Best of the Man-Kzin Wars (1998)
Man-Kzin Wars IX (2002, Larry Niven, Poul Anderson, Hal Colebatch, Paul Chafe)
Man-Kzin Wars X: The Wunder War (2003, Hal Colebatch)
Man-Kzin Wars XI (2005, Larry Niven, Hal Colebatch and Matthew Joseph Harrington)
Man-Kzin Wars XII (2009, Paul Chafe, Hal Colebatch and Matthew Joseph Harrington)
Man-Kzin Wars XIII (2012, Hal Colebatch, Jessica Q. Fox, Jane Lindskold, Charles E. Gannon, Alex Hernandez and David Bartell)
Man-Kzin Wars XIV (2013, Hal Colebatch, Jessica Q. Fox, Alex Hernandez, Matthew Jospeh Harrington)

Man-Kzin novels

Cathouse: A Novel of the Man Kzin-Wars (1990 Dean Ing)
The Children’s Hour: A Novel of the Man-Kzin Wars (1991, Jerry Pournelle and S. M. Stirling)
Inconstant Star (1991, Poul Anderson)
A Darker Geometry (1996, Mark O. Martin and Gregory Benford)
The Houses of the Kzinti (2002, Dean Ing, Jerry Pournelle, S. M. Stirling)
Destiny’s Forge: A Man-Kzin Wars Novel (2007, Paul Chafe)
Treasure Planet (2013, Hal Colebatch & Jessica Q. Fox)

Other collections

Centaurus: the best of Australian science fiction (1999, The Colonel’s Tiger by Hal Colebatch)
The Space Opera Renaissance (2006, The Survivor by Donald Kingsbury)

Other books

Annals of the Man-Kzin-Wars: An Unofficial Companion Guide (Alan Michaud?, 2001)


Ringworld RPG (1984)
Ringworld: Revenge of the Patriarch (1992, video game)
Return to Ringworld (1994, video game)

One Reply to “Known Space Books and Games”

Comments are closed.